sponsored bannersponsored banner

Street Fighter 6 Online Ranks

Femi Famutimi
6 min

This material was created with the support of our Patrons. You can support us!

Become a Patron
Street Fighter 6 Online Ranks
All you need to know about ranking up in Street Fighter 6

Street Fighter 6 has been out for about 3 weeks and people are beginning to get the hang of it. With several game modes, impressive online capabilities, crossplay, and single-player content, Street Fighter 6 could well be one of the greatest fighting games of all time. 

That said, the main thing most people come to Street Fighter for is the competition and so, ranked matches are perhaps the most important and popular content within the game. 

How does it work? Is it any different from Street Fighter 5? All these questions and a bit more will be answered in this article. With so many new players coming into the game, there is certainly some need to get acclimatized to the competitive world of Street Fighter 6. 

How Ranked Works

Street Fighter 6’s ranked works a little differently from its predecessors. First off, there are eight ranks and four leagues depending on skill level.

They are:

  • Rookie

  • Iron

  • Bronze

  • Silver

  • Gold

  • Platinum

  • Diamond

  • Master

Masters are in a league of their own while Diamond and Platinum occupy the lower league. Further down, we have Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Iron all in one league, and at the very bottom, we have the Rookie league.

How to Climb the Ranks in Street Fighter 6 

For each of these leagues, there are points to be earned. These league points are earned by winning matches. If you lose matches, you can also lose league points and even suffer demotion from one league to another. For instance, if you are in Platinum and lose successive matches, you could lose enough league points to find yourself in the Gold league once more. 

Also, you can drop from one rank to another. So, if you lose enough games, you can drop from Gold to Silver. Meanwhile, if you win, you can climb the ranks all the way to Master. 

There are a few nuts and bolts to understand regarding league points and positions. One of the most important is that you do not lose points in the Rookie league. Also, if you are in the upper league (Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold) you cannot under any circumstance, be demoted to Rookie again. In the Rookie and Iron leagues, you also get win streak bonuses which means that if you win consecutive matches, you get a greater haul of points. However, this is no longer available in the Platinum and Master League and there your consecutive wins simply give you the points available to you. 

Interestingly, Master League is very much like the Rookie league in that there is no demotion to the lower leagues once you attain Master. 

You might ask how matches between players in different ranks work. Well, it’s simple enough in that if you win a match against someone in a higher rank, you get more points. On the other hand, if you lose to someone of a lower rank, you lose a whole lot more points than losing to someone of a similar skill level and rank.

Additional Information Regarding Ranked In Street Fighter 6

One of the criticisms of Street Fighter V’s ranked mode was the loss of motivation that came with reaching a certain rank. For the challenge, most players had to create new CFN accounts and then fight from the lowest rank all the way to Warlord. There was also the problem of losing your Warlord rank if you tried out other characters that might be fun but with whom you aren’t as proficient with meaning you could lose matches you would normally have won and then get punished by losing precious league points. 

Street Fighter 6 has gone some way in rectifying this by implementing a new ranking system that is character specific rather than account-specific. This means you can now pick a character and play as you please without worrying about losing your rank. For example, if you pick Blanka and have him leveled up to Master, you can pick up Manon and start from scratch on the same account. Any losses you suffer will not affect your points tally and rank with Blanka

This is amazing and is a great way to encourage players to try out all the characters and have fun with them.

Finally, and most importantly, Street Fighter 6 wants you to play with people of a similar skill level immediately. This works thanks to placement matches. How this works is that with each character you pick, you are assessed over 10 matches and depending on your results, you are put in a rank that is assumed to be your best at the time. You can then grind from there to higher ranks. 

For instance, if you pick Marisa, you will play 10 matches against players from different ranks and levels and if you win 5 games and lose 5 others, you might find yourself as a Silver or Gold player. In this way, you don’t have to start from the bottom rank where you might not get a chance to play people of the same skill level as you. 

Also of note is that Modern controls are allowed in ranked meaning those who are new to the game will have a chance to use the new control scheme while testing their might against better players. However, the third control scheme, Dynamic, is not allowed online and can only be used offline.


Street Fighter 6 is a great game and is perhaps one of those easy-to-learn, hard-to-master titles. The game’s ranked is not hard to get into and you can pick it up as soon as possible. If you would like to level up, we will be having guides on characters available on the site soon, but you can watch a guide on Dhalsim, here.

This material was created with the support of our Patrons. You can support us!

Become a Patron