Casual glass ceiling

Author avatar

odinjoinedthegame

Tue, Jul 20

The pic below is all my recent Tekken experience. I have been playing T7 for 3 years already, 4600 hours in, and recently it just feels like a chore. I've recently got a full-time job that is consuming a lot of my time and energy, so playing regularly is no longer an option for me. With that being said, I've been struggling to get past Byakko in ranked for the latest year, and honestly, I don't think I'm getting it. Now, I find myself shutting down the thoughts about playing, because I immediately picture myself railed in ranked. Should I persist, or getting past the casual level is unfeasible for me? Had anyone had the same thoughts lately?

My perspective as a relatively new player: Tekken

Comments

Author avatar
Share your thoughts
Author avatar

SeraphinoRage

Wed, Jul 21

When you'll feel like you have time for Tekken again, don't rush to ranked immediately, but try to analyze your past matches. You can even record some of them and watch again to see what mistakes you are making. Learn your matchups, especially unfavorable, and reenact them with CPU or your friend/sparring partner. It may take a while, but you'll get it eventually, King

Author avatar

tellmewhy

Wed, Jul 21
odinjoinedthegame:

I'm not ambitious enough to go to Evo or smth, but I used to hang around my local tournaments for a while before I landed a full-timer. I guess I just enjoy winning, especially when it comes to LAN. It is fun and was also hung on the sense of bonding I had in the community. But yeah, I guess I'm not much of a natural, still something dies inside me when I land on the same dude who already beaten me 9 times online

If sense of bonding was so important to you back then, maybe you should try to play casually with your friends or other Tekken players from around. It may make it more joyous and you could possibly learn something from them

Author avatar

odinjoinedthegame

Wed, Jul 21
Tempsestbon: